How do I obtain an Insurance License in North Carolina?
1. Complete your prelicensing education requirements(before or after application submission). You must be 18 years old to obtain an insurance or adjustor's license in North Carolina.
2. Go to www.nipr.com to complete your license application and pay all required fees. Currently, the fee structure is as follows: state license fee $50, criminal background check (once) $38, NIPR processing fee $44. This processing fee is per application, not per line of authority.
3. Once your application is submitted, you will receive an email from PEARSON VUE that will provide the information required to schedule your examination. Currently, the examination fee is $46.
4. Call Pearson Vue to schedule your specific exam(s). Please be prepared to provide class completion dates and school provider codes when scheduling your exam. if your application requires fingerprinting, an email will be provided to you in order to access the forms. Fingerprint forms will need to be completed by your local law enforcement agency. Once completed, they can be submitted via regular mail, email, or fax to NC Pearson Vue.
5. Take and PASS your exam!
6. NIPR will send notification to NC Pearson Vue that your exam has been successfully completed. Your exam results and your application will be matched up and if no other information is needed, you will be sent a link to print your license through SBS Connect.
** Please note - The NIPR application is valid for six months from the date of submission. If you do not complete the licensing requirements within this time frame -- all fees would be lost and an applicant would have to reapply in order to be licensed. If your exam requires prelicensing, you do not need course completion dates or a school code in order to submit an application. However, you will need your course completion date and a school code in order to schedule an exam.
How long is my exam admission ticket good for?
Exam admission tickets are good for 90 days from the issue date or 5 test attempts.
What happens if I fail my prelicensing exam?
We are very confident that you will be successful on your first try (Insurance & Securities)! However, if a person does not pass on their first attempt -- we will allow you to come back to a future class at no charge within 12 months of your original purchase. Students participating in the self-study program will be offered an opportunity to retest at a later date.
How many questions are on the various insurance exams?
Life: 60 questions - 75 minutes
Health: 60 questions - 75 minutes
Medicare Supplement/Long-term Care: 60 questions - 105 minutes
Property: 60 questions - 75 minutes
Casualty: 60 question - 75 minutes
Adjuster: 120 questions - 135 minutes
How many questions are on the most popular securities exams?
Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) - 75 questions - 1 hour 45 minutes
Series 6: Investment Company and Variable Products Representative Exam - 50 questions - 1 hour 30 minutes
Series 7: General Securities Representative Exam - 125 questions - 3 hours 45 minutes
Series 24: General Securities Principal Exam - 150 questions - 3 hours 45 minutes
Series 63: Uniform Securities Agent State Law Exam - 60 questions - 1 hour 15 minutes
Series 65: Uniform Investment Adviser Law Exam - 130 questions - 3 hours
Series 66: Uniform Combined State Law Exam - 100 questions - 2 hours 30 minutes
I need to be sponsored by a company or an employer prior to taking insurance/securities exams?
Great question! Sponsorship is not required when taking insurance licensing exams or the Securities Industry Essentials Exam (SIE). Once the SIE is taken and passed, you would need a sponsorship to sit for the FINRA "top-off" exams. SIE results are good for 4 years without having to retest. Once licensed, an individual must be properly appointed by an insurance company/bank/brokerage firm, etc. prior to soliciting business. A producer or registered representative can only solicit business for the line of authority represented by the license. In addition to the SIE, there are a few FINRA exams that are excluded from the sponsorship requirement prior to testing (ex. Series 63, 65) -- please check the FINRA website for the latest licensing requirements.
What securities license(s) do I need to sell mutual funds and variable annuities in North Carolina?
You will need the Series 6 & 63 license in North Carolina.
Where are the Pearson Vue testing locations located in North Carolina?
Asheville, Charlotte, Greenville, Raleigh, Statesville, Wilmington, Winston-Salem
How do I pay for my prelicensing course?
We accept cash, check, money orders, and various credit cards.
When is payment due?
Payment is due by the first day of class. However, self-study materials purchased from our site or picked up in person require immediate payment. Walk-in registrations will be allowed on the first day of class provided space is available and full payment is provided.
What is your refund policy for insurance and securities prelicensing classes?
Rescheduled Live Classes - A class may be rescheduled up to two times at no charge, provided the request is made within 7 days of the desired class. Requests will be honored on a space available basis. If a change is desired less than 7 days prior to the scheduled class, a $50.00 change fee will apply.
Live Class Refunds - Full refunds will be issued for up to 14 days after the date of purchase but must be requested no later than 7 days prior to the start of class. If a refund is desired less than 7 days prior to the start of class, a $100.00 fee will apply. All returned materials for live classes must be resalable and returned in their original condition.
Study Materials/Self-Study - Full refunds will be given for up to 14 days after the date of purchase. All materials must be resalable and returned in their original condition. Materials that are not returned in resalable condition are not eligible for a refund. Returns are subject to a $25.00 Restocking Fee.